Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Draft 2nd Edition of the TCPS (December 2008)

Chapter 4

INCLUSION IN RESEARCH

A. Introduction

An important aspect of the principle of equal moral status is the fair distribution of benefits and burdens in research. Benefits of research participation may be direct, where, for example, an individual participant experiences amelioration of a health condition because of an experimental therapy or learns new information about social issues by participating in a research focus group. Benefits may be indirect, where an individual’s research participation contributes to advancement in knowledge that may lead to improved conditions for a group to which the participant belongs or to society in general. Historically, concern for justice in research involving human participants focused on whether research participants were treated fairly: were they overburdened relative to the direct benefits they received from their participation in research? Contemporary concerns with justice in research have broadened: are the overall benefits and burdens of research distributed fairly, and have disadvantaged individuals and groups received a fair share of the benefits of research?

The above two concerns flow from the principle of equal moral status, which holds that particular individuals or groups in society should neither bear an unfair share of the direct burdens of participating in research, nor should they be unfairly excluded from the potential benefits of research participation. Inclusiveness in research and fair distribution of benefits and burdens should be of concern to researchers, research ethics boards (REBs), research institutions and sponsors.

Overprotectionist attitudes or practices of researchers or REBs that intentionally exclude some members of society from participating in research may, in fact, fail to respect the equal moral status of those individuals and deprive them of the potential benefits of research. For example, age has been used to exclude individuals from participation in research, particularly health research. The result of such exclusion is that insufficient research has been done involving the young and the elderly.

Whether intentional or inadvertent, the exclusion of some from the potential benefits of research violates the principle of equal moral status of all humans. Researchers, institutions and REBs all have important roles to play in advancing that societal commitment and ensuring a fair distribution of the benefits and burdens of research. Research should navigate somewhere between the dangers of exploitation and the dangers of overprotection of research participants.

B. General Inclusivity of Research

Article 4.1 Researchers must not exclude individuals from participation in research on the basis of attributes such as culture, religion, race, disability, sexual orientation, ethnicity, sex or age unless there is a valid reason for the exclusion.

Application Article 4.1 is based on the principles of equal moral status and just distribution of benefits of research participation across all groups in society. It imposes a duty on researchers not to discriminate against individuals or groups for reasons that are unrelated to the research inquiry. Groups have been disadvantaged in the context of research on the basis of characteristics such as sex, colour, ethnicity, age and disability. Among those who have been disadvantaged in the context of research, women warrant special consideration, as elaborated on in Article 4.3.

Article 4.1 is not intended to preclude research focused on a single living individual (such as in a biography) or on a group of individuals who share a specific characteristic (as in a study of an identifiable group of painters who happen to be all of one sex, race or religion, or of a religious order that is restricted to one sex).

Researchers who plan to actively exclude particular groups from research must explain the exclusion to the REB. The REB will assess the validity and reasonableness of the exclusion, based on the nature of the research inquiry, the context in which the research is conducted, and other objective grounds for the inclusion and exclusion criteria.

Article 4.2 Individuals who are not proficient in the language used by the researchers should not be automatically excluded from the opportunity to participate in research.

Application The exclusion of potential research participants on the basis of language proficiency may undermine the objective of Article 4.1 to avoid exclusions based on culture, race or ethnicity. With appropriate measures to ensure effective communication between potential participants and researchers, language proficiency should not bar inclusion in research. Where a language barrier exists, various measures may be used to ensure effective communication between potential participants and researchers in recruitment and informed consent discussions. For example, an intermediary who is not part of the research study or team, but who is competent in the language used by the researchers as well as that chosen by the research participant may assist with communication between potential participants and researchers. The intermediary’s activities will depend on the nature and risks of the research. For example, where risks are minimal and researchers intend to seek oral consent from participants, an intermediary may help facilitate oral communication. In other situations involving written consent materials, the intermediary may translate or approve an existing translation of consent documents and any other information relevant to participation in the study. The intermediary should not be in a role or relationship that may influence the potential participant’s free and informed consent.

C. Research Involving Women

Women have historically been inappropriately excluded from participating in some research. Exclusion of women, where unwarranted, delays advancement of knowledge, denies potential benefits to women, and may expose them to harm if research findings from male-only studies are generalized inappropriately to women. The inclusion of women in research advances the commitment to equal moral status, improves the generalizability of research results where that is a goal of the research, and is essential to ensure that women and men benefit equally from research.

Article 4.3 Women must not be automatically excluded from research solely on the basis of sex or reproductive capacity.

Application Like Article 4.1, Article 4.3 imposes obligations on REBs and researchers to ensure equitable treatment of potential participants. While some research is properly focused on particular research populations that do not include women or include very few women, women should be represented in most studies.

Article 4.3 rejects discriminatory and unethical use of inclusion or exclusion criteria that presumptively or automatically exclude women because of their sex or reproductive capacity. In considering research on pregnant or breastfeeding women, researchers and REBs must, however, take into account potential harms and benefits for the woman and her embryo, fetus or infant.

D. Research Involving Vulnerable Persons or Groups

Respect for equal moral status and welfare entails special ethical obligations toward individuals or groups who may be vulnerable in the context of research, such as children and individuals who are institutionalized, or those in dependent situations or other situations that may compromise voluntariness of consent. Researchers and REBs should be mindful of the fact that poverty may also impede an autonomous choice to participate in research.

Article 4.4 Vulnerable individuals or groups must not be automatically excluded from research that may benefit them or a group to which they belong.

Application Characteristics that may make an individual or group vulnerable in the context of research may vary over time and with changing circumstances. Also, individuals should not automatically be considered vulnerable because of a group with which they may be identified. Researchers and REBs should recognize and address changes in a participant’s circumstances that may create, heighten or attenuate vulnerability and provide special protections for those who are vulnerable to abuse, exploitation or discrimination. Researchers and REBs should also be aware of applicable laws, regulations and other requirements that establish rules regarding participation of vulnerable individuals in research.

Children may be particularly vulnerable as research participants because of their developmental status. Researchers and REBs must consider a child’s stage of physical, physiological, psychological and social development to ensure adequate protections for a child’s welfare. Physical or psychological harms a child experiences in a research setting may have long-lasting effects. In addition to vulnerability that arises from their developmental status, children may also lack capacity to give consent to participate in research.

Similarly, adults who are institutionalized may be vulnerable because they live under the care of others, but they may also lack capacity to consent due to cognitive disability or other impairment. The following section provides further guidance on the ethical conduct of research with participants who cannot give consent for themselves.

E. Research Involving Those Who Lack Capacity to Consent for Themselves

Respect for equal moral status and concern for welfare entails special ethical obligations toward individuals who do not have capacity to give free and informed consent for research participation. Individuals who do not have capacity to give consent to participate in research should not be automatically excluded from research. Based on the core principle of concern for welfare, however, this section sets out conditions that apply to research involving those who cannot give consent for themselves. This section should be read in conjunction with Section C (“Capacity”) of Chapter 3 (“Free and Informed Consent”).

Article 4.5 Where a researcher seeks to involve individuals in research who do not have capacity to give free and informed consent, the researcher must satisfy the research ethics board that:

  1. The research question can be addressed only with the participation of individuals who do not have capacity to consent; and
  2. If the research involves more than minimal risk, it has the potential to provide direct benefits for participants or a group to which they belong.

Application This Policy recognizes the need to include individuals or groups in research who have historically been excluded, including those who lack capacity to give consent for themselves. For example, young children and individuals with cognitive or intellectual disabilities may lack capacity to give consent to participate in particular research initiatives. Yet the advancement of knowledge about their social, psychological and health experiences and needs may depend on their participation in research.

Article 4.5 and Article 3.10 in Chapter 3 (“Free and Informed Consent”) establish conditions regarding research that involves individuals who lack capacity to give consent. Researchers and REBs must consider the degree of risk to which participants are exposed and the potential of direct benefits to the participant or a group to which they belong.

Note: The World Medical Association Declaration Of Helsinki: Ethical Principles For Medical Research Involving Human Subjects (October 2008), s. 27, states, with respect to research involving those who lack capacity, that “these individuals must not be included in a research study that has no likelihood of benefit for them unless it is intended to promote the health of the population represented by the potential subject, the research cannot instead be performed with competent individuals, and entails only minimal risk and minimal burden.” The Panel presents this statement here as a point of comparison in the discussion of proposed Article 4.5.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Version préliminaire de la deuxième édition de l'EPTC (décembre 2008)

Chapitre 4

L’INTÉGRATION À LA RECHERCHE

A. Introduction

Le principe de l’égalité morale suppose la répartition équitable des avantages et des inconvénients de la recherche. La participation à la recherche peut procurer des avantages directs, par exemple un participant dont la santé s’améliore grâce à une thérapie expérimentale, ou un autre participant qui est mieux renseigné au sujet d’enjeux sociaux en prenant part à un groupe de discussion. Les avantages peuvent aussi être indirects, comme lorsque la participation d’une personne à une recherche aide à produire de nouvelles connaissances susceptibles d’améliorer les conditions sociales en générale ou celles d’un groupe auquel appartient le participant. Dans le passé, le souci de justice dans la recherche avec des participants humains était essentiellement axé sur l’équité du traitement réservé aux participants : comment le fardeau qui leur était imposé se comparait-il aux avantages directs découlant de leur participation à la recherche. Aujourd’hui, cette préoccupation s’est élargie pour tenir compte de la répartition équitable des avantages et des inconvénients de la recherche et de la mesure dans laquelle les personnes et les groupes désavantagés reçoivent une part équitable des avantages de la recherche.

Ces deux préoccupations sont issues du principe de l’égalité morale, selon lequel des membres ou des groupes particuliers de la société ne devraient ni subir une part inéquitable des inconvénients directs de la participation à la recherche, ni être privés injustement de ses avantages éventuels. Les chercheurs, les comités d’éthique de la recherche (CÉR), les établissements de recherche et les commanditaires devraient se soucier de l’intégration à la recherche et de la répartition équitable des avantages et des inconvénients.

Les attitudes ou les pratiques excessivement protectrices des chercheurs ou des comités d’éthique de la recherche qui excluent intentionnellement certains membres de la société de la participation à la recherche peuvent en fait aller à l’encontre du principe de l’égalité morale de ces personnes en les privant des avantages éventuels de la recherche. Par exemple, l’âge a été utilisé comme critère d’exclusion de la participation à la recherche, surtout dans le domaine de la santé. En conséquence, il s’est fait trop peu de recherches touchant les jeunes et les personnes âgées.

Qu’elle soit intentionnelle ou non, l’exclusion de certains des avantages possibles de la recherche viole le principe de l’égalité morale de tous les êtres humains. Les chercheurs, les établissements et les CÉR ont tous un rôle important à jouer en vue de promouvoir cette valeur sociétale et faire en sorte que les avantages et les inconvénients de la recherche soient répartis de façon équitable. La recherche devrait éviter à la fois les risques d’exploitation et les risques de protection excessive des participants à la recherche.

B. Inclusivité générale de la recherche

Article 4.1 Les chercheurs ne doivent pas exclure des participants éventuels à la recherche en fonction de caractéristiques telles que la culture, la religion, la race, la déficience, l’orientation sexuelle, l’origine ethnique, le sexe ou l’âge, à moins qu’il n’y ait une raison valable de le faire.

Application L’article 4.1 s’appuie sur les principes de l’égalité morale et de la répartition équitable des avantages de la participation à la recherche parmi tous les groupes de la société. Il impose au chercheur le devoir d’éviter la discrimination à l’égard de personnes ou de groupes pour des raisons qui ne sont pas liées à l’objet de la recherche. En recherche, des groupes ont été désavantagés en fonction de caractéristiques telles que le sexe, la couleur de la peau, l’origine ethnique, l’âge et la déficience. Parmi les groupes qui ont été défavorisés dans la recherche, les femmes méritent une attention spéciale, comme il en est question à l’article 4.3.

L’article 4.1 ne vise pas à empêcher la recherche visant une seule personne vivante (par exemple, dans le cas d’une biographie) ou un groupe de personnes partageant une caractéristique précise (par exemple, une étude portant sur un groupe de peintres identifiables qui sont tous du même sexe, de la même couleur ou de la même religion, ou une étude portant sur une congrégation religieuse regroupant uniquement des personnes du même sexe).

Les chercheurs qui envisagent d’exclure délibérément certains groupes de leur recherche doivent fournir une explication au CÉR. Le CÉR évaluera la validité et le caractère raisonnable de l’exclusion, d’après la nature de la recherche, le contexte dans lequel la recherche se déroule et d’autres critères objectifs d’inclusion ou d’exclusion.

Article 4.2 Les personnes qui ne maîtrisent pas la langue employée par les chercheurs ne devraient pas être automatiquement privées de la possibilité de participer à la recherche.

Application L’exclusion de participants éventuels à la recherche fondée sur la maîtrise d’une langue peut aller à l’encontre de l’objectif de l’article 4.1, qui est d’éviter les exclusions en fonction de caractéristiques telles que la culture, la race ou l’origine ethnique. En ayant recours à des mesures adéquates pour assurer une communication efficace entre les participants éventuels et les chercheurs, le fait de ne pas maîtriser une langue ne devrait pas constituer un obstacle à la participation à une recherche. Lorsqu’il existe un obstacle linguistique, diverses mesures peuvent être prises pour assurer une communication efficace entre participants et chercheurs lors du recrutement et des discussions sur le consentement éclairé. Par exemple, un intermédiaire qui ne fait pas partie de l’étude ou de l’équipe de chercheurs mais qui maîtrise la langue employée par les chercheurs et celle que préfèrent des participants éventuels peut faciliter les communications entre les deux parties. Les activités de l’intermédiaire varieront selon la nature de la recherche et les risques en cause. Ainsi, lorsque les risques sont minimes et que les chercheurs ont l’intention d’obtenir le consentement oral des participants, un intermédiaire peut faciliter les communications orales. Dans d’autres situations où des formulaires de consentement écrit sont utilisés, l’intermédiaire peut traduire les documents et toute autre information relative à la participation à l’étude, ou valider une traduction existante de ces documents. L’intermédiaire ne devrait pas jouer un rôle ou se trouver dans une relation qui pourrait influer sur le consentement libre et éclairé des participants éventuels.

C. Recherches avec les femmes

Dans le passé, les femmes ont été exclues de façon indue de certaines recherches. L’exclusion injustifiée des femmes retarde l’avancement des connaissances, prive les femmes d’avantages éventuels et peut les exposer à des risques si les conclusions tirées d’études portant uniquement sur des hommes sont, à tort, appliquées aux femmes. L’intégration des femmes à la recherche appuie le principe de l’égalité morale, rend les résultats de la recherche plus aisément généralisables s’il y a lieu et est essentielle pour que les femmes et les hommes profitent également de la recherche.

Article 4.3 Les femmes ne doivent pas être automatiquement exclues de projets de recherche uniquement en raison de leur sexe ou de leur capacité de reproduction.

Application Comme l’article 4.1, l’article 4.3 impose aux CÉR et aux chercheurs l’obligation d’assurer le traitement équitable des participants éventuels. Bien que certaines recherches visent à juste titre des populations qui ne comprennent que peu ou pas de femmes, les femmes devraient être représentées dans la plupart des études.

L’article 4.3 rejette l’utilisation discriminatoire ou contraire à l’éthique de critères d’inclusion ou d’exclusion qui ont pour effet d’exclure par hypothèse ou de façon automatique les femmes en raison de leur sexe ou de leur capacité de reproduction. Cependant, dans les recherches menées avec des femmes enceintes ou qui allaitent, les chercheurs et les CÉR doivent tenir compte des préjudices et des avantages éventuels pour la femme et son embryon, son fœtus ou son jeune enfant.

D. Recherches avec des personnes ou des groupes vulnérables

Le respect de l’égalité morale et du bien-être de tous suppose des obligations éthiques particulières envers les personnes ou les groupes qui peuvent être vulnérables dans le contexte de la recherche, comme les enfants ou les personnes qui vivent en établissement, qui ne sont pas autonomes ou dont la liberté de consentement est compromise pour une autre raison. Les chercheurs et les CÉR devraient tenir compte du fait que la pauvreté peut aussi entraver le choix autonome de participer à une recherche.

Article 4.4 Les personnes ou les groupes vulnérables ne doivent pas être automatiquement exclus d’une recherche dont ils pourraient profiter individuellement ou collectivement.

Application Les caractéristiques susceptibles de rendre une personne ou un groupe vulnérable dans le contexte de la recherche peuvent varier avec le temps et les circonstances. En outre, les personnes ne devraient pas automatiquement être considérées comme vulnérables du fait qu’elles sont associées à un groupe particulier. Les chercheurs et les CÉR devraient reconnaître les changements dans la situation d’un participant qui peuvent engendrer, accentuer ou atténuer une vulnérabilité, en tenir compte et prévoir des moyens de protection spéciaux pour les personnes vulnérables aux abus, à l’exploitation ou à la discrimination. Les chercheurs et les CÉR devraient aussi connaître les lois, les règlements et les autres exigences qui établissent des règles en ce qui a trait à la participation de personnes vulnérables à une recherche.

Les enfants peuvent être des participants particulièrement vulnérables à la recherche en raison de leur stade de développement. Les chercheurs et les CÉR devraient tenir compte du niveau de développement physique, physiologique, psychologique et social d’un enfant et s’assurer que des mesures de protection adéquates ont été prises pour son bien-être. Les préjudices physiques ou psychologiques subis par un enfant dans le cadre d’une recherche peuvent avoir des effets durables. En plus de la vulnérabilité associée à leur stade de développement, les enfants n’ont souvent pas la capacité requise pour consentir à participer à une recherche.

De même, les adultes vivant en établissement peuvent être vulnérables parce qu’ils sont pris en charge par d’autres personnes, mais ils peuvent aussi ne pas avoir la capacité requise pour consentir à participer à une recherche en raison d’une déficience cognitive ou autre. La section suivante présente des balises supplémentaires sur l’éthique de la recherche avec des participants qui ne peuvent pas donner eux-mêmes le consentement requis.

E. Recherches avec des personnes inaptes à donner leur consentement

Le respect de l’égalité morale et le souci du bien-être supposent des obligations éthiques envers les personnes qui n’ont pas la capacité de donner leur consentement libre et éclairé à participer à la recherche. Les personnes qui n’ont pas la capacité requise pour consentir à participer à la recherche ne devraient pas automatiquement être exclues. Cependant, en vertu du principe directeur de la préoccupation pour le bien-être, la présente section définit les conditions qui s’appliquent à la recherche avec des personnes qui ne peuvent pas donner elles-mêmes leur consentement. Cette section devrait être interprétée à la lumière de la section C (Aptitude) du chapitre 3 (Le consentement libre et éclairé).

Article 4.5 Lorsqu’un chercheur sollicite la participation à une recherche de personnes qui n’ont pas la capacité de donner leur consentement libre et éclairé, il doit démontrer à la satisfaction du comité d’éthique de la recherche que :

  1. la question sur laquelle porte la recherche ne peut être étudiée qu’avec la participation de personnes qui n’ont pas la capacité de donner leur consentement;
  2. si la recherche comporte un risque plus que minimal, elle laisse entrevoir la possibilité de procurer des avantages directs aux participants ou à un groupe auquel ils appartiennent.

Application La présente politique reconnaît la nécessité de faire participer à la recherche des personnes ou des groupes qui en ont été exclus dans le passé, y compris des personnes inaptes à donner leur consentement. Par exemple, les jeunes enfants ou les personnes ayant une déficience cognitive ou intellectuelle peuvent ne pas avoir la capacité requise pour consentir à participer à certains projets de recherche. Pourtant, l’avancement des connaissances au sujet de leurs expériences et de leurs besoins sur les plans social ou psychologique, ou en matière de santé, peuvent dépendre de leur participation à la recherche.

L’article 4.5 et l’article 3.10 du chapitre 3 (Le Consentement libre et éclairé) établissent des conditions applicables à la recherche avec des personnes inaptes à donner leur consentement. Les chercheurs et les CÉR doivent tenir compte du degré de risque auquel les participants sont exposés, ainsi que des avantages directs possibles pour les participants ou un groupe auquel ils appartiennent.

Avis : Concernant les personnes inaptes la Déclaration d’Helsinki d’octobre 2008 de l’Organisation médicale mondiale énonce à la section 27 que , « [C]es personnes ne doivent pas être incluses dans une étude qui ne peut guère leur apporter d’avantages, à moins qu’elle ne vise à améliorer la santé de la population représentée par le sujet pressenti, qu’elle ne puisse pas être réalisée avec des personnes compétentes et qu’elle comporte seulement un risque minimal et des inconvénients minimaux ». [TRADUCTION]