Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Past Interpretations of the TCPS

Subject Use of Student Subject/Participant Pools in Research
Keywords Recruitment, captive populations, coercion, dual-role of researcher/teacher, informed consent, research requiring review, students, subject pools, undue inducements, voluntariness, penalties
TCPS Articles Ethics Framework, 1.1, 1.6, 1.13, 2.2, 2.4.
Date July 2006

PDF Use_of_Student_Subject-Participant_Pools_in_Research_July_2006.pdf

1. This response to questions about the recruitment from, or use of, student “subject or participant pools”1 as part of university coursework is consistent with the principles of the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS).

2. One question concerns whether the awarding of bonus points to students from these pools who agree to participate in research is consistent with free and informed consent. The second question is whether awarding bonus points to students recruited to participate in research from such pools may be viewed as a form of coercion for participating students and as a penalty for non-participating students. The final question is whether penalizing students for failing to fulfill all conditions of participation in a study they had agreed to take part in is inconsistent with the TCPS and should be brought to the attention of the research ethics board (REB), or if this is an administrative rather than an ethics issue. Your questions have been referred to the Interagency Advisory Panel on Research Ethics (PRE) for advice.2

3. The questions raise issues of research requiring ethics review, participation from captive or dependent populations, the dual role of teacher/researcher, free and informed consent, and undue influence under the TCPS. As elaborated below, if the involvement of students is for “research” and not a teaching/training assignment, then the project should undergo research ethics review in accordance with the proportionate approach to ethics assessment. Teachers should be mindful of the power imbalance that exists when they ask or require their students to enrol as participants in research as part of the curriculum. To respect informed consent, teachers/researchers should provide an alternative activity, which involves comparable time and effort for comparable reward, for those who do not wish to participate in the research. Penalizing students by removing credits already earned for failing to participate in an agreed-upon research project is inconsistent with the principles of the TCPS.

Research Requiring Ethics Review or Teaching/Training Exercise?

4. Introductory courses at the university level sometimes include a component of research in the curriculum. Psychology is one example. An issue that this practice raises is whether the involvement of students in research projects is primarily for instilling the students with the experience, understanding, skills and expertise for professional practice, as a teaching/training exercise, or whether the activity’s primary purpose is actual “research involving humans.”3 The TCPS defines “research” as involving “a systematic investigation to establish facts, principles or generalizable knowledge.” The intent, purpose, and function of the activity, as well as the use of the collected data, are some of the factors for determining whether an activity is “research.”4 If the activities involve “research” involving humans, then Articles 1.1 and 1.13 of the TCPS generally stipulate that it undergo prospective and continuing REB review, in accordance with “a proportionate approach to ethics assessment.”5 Teaching/training exercises do not normally require research ethics review.6

5. If the activity constitutes “research involving humans” under the TCPS, then it requires REB review and the following issues may also merit attention.

Students as a Captive/Dependent Population: Voluntariness

6. Article 2.2 of the TCPS expresses the principle that informed consent to participate in research should be voluntary. Violation of this principle infringes on autonomy, tends to disable people from acting self-protectively through the balancing of risks and benefits, increases the potential for exploitation, and raises associated justice issues.

7. The TCPS encourages ethics review of issues such as consent from a participant-centred perspective,7 which should inform the analysis of student participation in the research component of university courses. Some such courses, especially introductory ones, are a requirement for a degree. From the participant-centred perspective, students obliged to participate, as participants, in the research component of such courses may be regarded as a dependent or captive population. A captive/dependent population tends to be characterized by its lack of freedom, its dependency on authority, and significantly lessened decision-making power—all of which diminish autonomy and increase the potential for “coercive participation” in research.8 The vulnerability of prisoners, military personnel, institutionalized persons, and other classic captive populations have, historically, resulted in a range of affronts to human dignity, abuses, injury and exploitation in the name of research.9 The TCPS addresses such concerns.

Voluntariness is especially relevant in research involving restricted or dependent subjects …. The influence of power relationships on voluntary choice should be judged according to the particular context of prospective subjects. For example, the voluntariness of … students may be restricted because their institutional context implies undue pressure ….10

8. For such reasons, the TCPS states in the commentary to Article 2.4(d) that “teachers should not recruit prospective subjects from their classes, or students under their supervision, without REB approval.”

“Dual Role” of the Teacher/Researcher

9. Students and teachers, similar to participants and researchers, often develop relationships grounded at least partly on trust. Students, for instance, properly assume that their teacher would propose activities that are in the students’ best pedagogical interests. REB review of a teacher’s recruitment of students as participants to research projects is also intended to ensure that such trust relationships remain free of confusion or exploitation when professors assume the dual role of teacher and research-recruiter of students. Commentary to TCPS Article 2.4(e) indicates this:

To preserve and not abuse the trust on which many professional relations reside, researchers should separate their role as researcher from their roles as therapists, caregivers, teachers, advisors, consultants, supervisors, students or employers and the like.… Researchers should disassociate their role as researcher from other roles, in the recruitment process and throughout the project. [bold emphasis added]

10. The Canadian Code of Ethics for Psychologists of the Canadian Psychological Association has also recognized this concern.11

Voluntary, Informed Consent and Undue Influence

11. As noted, Article 2.2 of the TCPS states, “Free and informed consent must be voluntarily given, without manipulation, undue influence or coercion.” The principle of free and informed consent may be challenged by other dimensions of the use of student subject or participant pools.

12. In some institutions, students participate as subjects in research studies to receive bonus credits over and above their normal grade in the course. In other institutions, student participation in research is part of the curriculum, and the participation is reflected in the grade earned in the course. In both cases, awarding credits to students for participating in research studies raises ethical issues in the absence of an alternative, non-research activity that gives students the opportunity to earn an equivalent amount of points. Without the alternative activity, awarding credits solely for participating in research raises issues of “undue influence.” According to the TCPS,

Undue influence may take the form of inducement, deprivation, or the exercise of control, or authority over prospective subjects.… The offer of benefits in some contexts may amount to undue inducement, and thus negate the voluntary aspect of the consent of subjects who may perceive such offers as a way to gain favour or improve their situation.12

13. To ensure that the participation in research is voluntary, and to minimize the risk of undue inducement, students should be given an alternative activity that would allow them to earn credits comparable to what they would earn were they to participate in the research project. One example would be to do a written assignment instead of participating in the research. To maximize freedom of choice, the effort and time expended for the research and the non-research alternative, as well as the potential rewards, should be comparable. This approach is consistent with the code of ethics of the Canadian Psychological Association.13 The more the alternative activity is viewed as comparatively or unjustifiably onerous, the more it is likely to exert undue or potentially coercive influence regarding participation in the research.

Penalties

14. You also refer to a practice in some university coursework under which students who have agreed to participate in a research study but fail to do so are penalized by losing other credits already earned in the course. TCPS Article 2.4(d) provides that researchers give “an assurance that prospective subjects are free not to participate, have the right to withdraw at any time without prejudice to pre-existing entitlements .…” From a participant-centred perspective, a practice of penalizing students who decide not to participate in research by withdrawing credits previously earned is intended to, and does, work as a strongly negative influence. It runs directly contrary to a participant’s right to withdraw from research without prejudice. Such a penalty thus functions as an “undue,” and possibly coercive, influence on voluntary participation in research, and is inconsistent with the principles and spirit of the TCPS.

We hope that this information proves helpful to your TCPS research ethics deliberations.

Sincerely,

Secretariat on Research Ethics
on behalf of
The Interagency Advisory Panel on Research Ethics
pre.ethics.gc.ca


  1. “Subject or participant pools” refers to a group of individuals who constitute potential subjects to be recruited for research. For instance, psychology students in a university class may constitute a subject or participant pool.
  2. PRE provides advice on such interpretation questions to assist the research ethics community in applying the TCPS to the ethical issues it faces. While responses to TCPS interpretation questions may address ethical dimensions of legal issues in research ethics, PRE does not provide legal advice. Nor does it act as an appeal body on REB or institutional decisions.
  3. TCPS, Commentary to Article 1.1, page 1.1
  4. See Interagency Advisory Panel on Research Ethics (Interpretation) Definition of Quality Assurance Studies, Performance Reviews and Research (2003) http://pre.ethics.gc.ca/eng/archives/tcps-eptc/interpretations/interpretation007/
  5. TCPS, Article 1.6, page 1.7
  6. See commentary to TCPS Article 1.1(d): “…studies related directly to assessing the performance of … students, … according to the terms and conditions of … training, should also not be subject to REB review. However, performance reviews or studies that contain an element of research in addition to assessment may need ethics review.”
  7. TCPS, Context of an Ethics Framework, D: A Subject-Centred Perspective, page i.7.
  8. See Moreno, Jonathan. “Convenient and Captive Populations” in Jeffrey Kahn, et al., eds., Beyond Consent: Seeking Justice in Research. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998: 111–130. (“The potentially coercive nature of being a student may arise from a course requirement that they serve as a study subject.” p. 123)
  9. Ibid.
  10. TCPS, commentary to Article 2.2, page 2.4.
  11. Canadian Psychological Association. Canadian Code of Ethics for Psychologists, 3rd ed. 2000. III.33 “Avoid dual or multiple relationships (e.g., with clients, research participants, employees, supervisees, students, or trainees) and other situations that might present a conflict of interest or that might reduce their ability to be objective and unbiased in their determinations of what might be in the best interests of others.”
  12. TCPS, commentary to Article 2.2, page 2.4
  13. Canadian Psychological Association. Canadian Code of Ethics for Psychologists, 3rd ed. 2000. I.36: “Be particularly cautious in establishing the freedom of consent of any person who is in a dependent relationship to the psychologist (e.g., student, employee). This may include, but is not limited to, offering that person an alternative activity to fulfill their educational or employment goals, or offering a range of research studies or experience opportunities from which the person can select, none of which is so onerous as to be coercive.”

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Interprétations de l'EPTC

Objet Utilisation en recherche de bassins de sujets ou de participants étudiants
Mots clés Recrutement, populations captives, coercition, double rôle de chercheur et de professeur, consentement éclairé, recherche nécessitant examen, étudiants, bassins de sujets ou de participants étudiants, incitation exagérée, volontariat, pénalités
Règles de l'EPTC Cadre éthique, 1.1, 1.6, 1.13, 2.2, 2.4
Date juillet 2006

PDF Utilisation en recherche de bassins de sujets ou de participants étudiants_juillet 2006

1. La présente réponse aux trois questions concernant le recrutement ou l’utilisation en recherche de « bassins de sujets ou de participants étudiants»1 comme élément des travaux des cours universitaires est conforme aux principes de l’Énoncé de politique des trois Conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains (EPTC).

2. Une première question cherche à établir si l’octroi de points de bonification aux étudiants de ces bassins qui acceptent de participer à une recherche s’accorde avec le consentement libre et éclairé. La deuxième question examine si l’octroi de points de bonification aux étudiants de ces bassins qui acceptent de participer à une recherche peut être considéré comme une forme de coercition des étudiants participants et comme une pénalité pour les étudiants qui ne participent pas. La question finale vise à établir si le fait de pénaliser les étudiants qui ne respectent pas toutes les conditions de participation à une étude à laquelle ils ou elles avaient acceptés de participer est contraire à l'EPTC et devrait être signalé au Comité d’éthique de la recherche (CER) ou, s’il s’agit d’une question administrative plutôt que d’une question d’éthique. Vos questions ont été transmises au Groupe consultatif interagences en éthique de la recherche (GER) pour avis2.

3. Ces trois demandes soulèvent des questions par rapport à la recherche nécessitant l’examen de l’éthique, la participation de populations captives ou dépendantes, le double rôle du professeur et du chercheur, le consentement libre et éclairé et l’influence excessive selon l'EPTC. Comme nous le précisons ci-dessous, si la participation d’étudiants sert à la « recherche » et non à l’enseignement ou à la formation, alors le projet devrait faire l’objet d’un examen en éthique de la recherche conformément à la méthode proportionnelle d’évaluation éthique. Les professeurs doivent tenir compte du déséquilibre du pouvoir lorsqu’ils demandent ou exigent que leurs étudiants s’enrôlent comme participants à la recherche dans le cadre de leurs cours. Pour respecter le consentement éclairé, les professeurs-chercheurs devraient proposer à celles et à ceux qui ne souhaitent pas participer à la recherche une activité de remplacement comportant une période de temps et des activités comparables menant à une récompense comparable. Pénaliser les étudiants en enlevant des crédits qui leur ont été accordés parce qu’ils ne participent pas à un projet de recherche tel que convenu, est contraire aux principes de l'EPTC.

Recherche requérant l’examen de l’éthique ou exercice d’enseignement et de formation?

4. Les cours universitaires d’introduction comportent parfois un élément de recherche, par exemple, en psychologie. La question autour de cette pratique vise à établir si la participation des étudiants aux projets de recherche cherche principalement à leur donner de l’expérience, une compréhension, des habiletés et une expertise en vue d’une pratique professionnelle, ou si elle relève d’un exercice d’enseignement et de formation, ou si l’activité a pour but principal de faire de la « recherche avec des êtres humains »3. L'EPTC définit « recherche » comme « toute investigation systématique visant à établir des faits, des principes ou des connaissances généralisables ». La visée, le but et la fonction de l’activité ainsi que l’utilisation des données recueillies sont parmi les facteurs permettant d’établir si une activité constitue une « recherche »4. Si les activités comportent des « recherches » avec des êtres humains, alors les règles 1.1 et 1.13 de l'EPTC stipulent généralement que celles-ci doivent faire l’objet de l’examen futur et continu par le CER, conformément à la « méthode proportionnelle d’évaluation éthique »5. Les exercices d’enseignement et de formation ne requièrent pas normalement d’examen de l’éthique de la recherche6.

5. Si l’activité constitue une « recherche avec des êtres humains » selon l'EPTC, elle requiert l’examen par un CER et les questions suivantes peuvent aussi être prises en considération.

Étudiants comme population captive ou dépendante : le volontariat

6. La règle 2.2 de l'EPTC exprime le principe selon lequel le consentement éclairé à participer à la recherche devrait être volontaire. La violation de ce principe empiète sur l’autonomie, tend à empêcher les gens de s’auto-protéger en répartissant de façon équilibrée les risques et les avantages, augmente le risque d’exploitation et soulève des questions de justice.

7. L'EPTC encourage l’examen de l’éthique de questions telles que le consentement d’un point de vue axé sur les participants7, lequel devrait éclairer l’analyse de la participation étudiante à l’élément de recherche des cours universitaires. Certains de ces cours, plus particulièrement les cours d’introduction, sont obligatoires pour l’obtention d’un diplôme. Du point de vue axé sur les participants, les étudiants obligés à prendre part, à titre de participants, à l’élément de recherche de tels cours, peuvent être considérés comme une population dépendante ou captive. Une population dépendante ou captive a tendance à être caractérisée par son manque de liberté, sa dépendance à l’autorité et la diminution considérable de ses pouvoirs décisionnels. Tout cela réduit l’autonomie et accroît la possibilité d’une «_participation coercitive » à la recherche8. La vulnérabilité des prisonniers, des militaires, des personnes institutionnalisées et autres populations captives classiques a historiquement produit une gamme d’affronts à la dignité humaine, d’abus, de préjudices et d’exploitation au nom de la recherche9. L'EPTC traite de ces préoccupations.

Ce […] volontariat s’applique tout particulièrement à la recherche avec des sujets dépendants ou sous contrainte. […] L’influence des relations de pouvoir sur le choix volontaire devrait être évaluée en fonction de la situation de chaque sujet pressenti. Ainsi, […] les étudiants peuvent ne pas donner un consentement totalement libre dans la mesure où ils se trouvent dans un contexte institutionnel donnant prise à des pressions indues10.

8. Pour de telles raisons, on trouve dans les commentaires à la règle 2.4d) de l'EPTC qu’un « professeur ne devrait pas recruter ses propres étudiants ou des étudiants travaillant sous sa supervision sans avoir obtenu l’accord du CER. »

Double rôle de professeur-chercheur

9. Les étudiants et les professeurs, de façon semblable aux participants et aux chercheurs, forgent souvent des relations fondées sur la confiance, du moins en partie. Les étudiants, par exemple, supposent correctement que leur professeur doit leur proposer des activités qui sont dans leurs meilleurs intérêts pédagogiques. L’examen, par le CER, du recrutement d’étudiants comme participants aux projets de recherche par le professeur vise aussi à assurer que de telles relations de confiance demeurent exemptes de confusion ou d’exploitation lorsque les professeurs assument le double rôle de professeur et de chercheur-recruteur d’étudiants. Voici le commentaire à la règle 2.4e) de l'EPTC :

Afin de préserver la confiance inspirant de nombreuses relations professionnelles et surtout de ne pas en abuser, les chercheurs devraient faire une distinction entre leur rôle de chercheur proprement dit et leur rôle de thérapeute, de donneur de soin, de professeur, de conseiller, de consultant, de superviseur, d’étudiant, d’employeur, etc. […] Les chercheurs devraient, pendant le processus de recrutement et pendant toute la durée du projet, préciser comment ils ont dissocié leur rôle de chercheur de leurs autres rôles. [Caractère gras ajouté]

10. Le Code canadien de déontologie professionnelle des psychologues de la Société canadienne de psychologie a aussi reconnu cette préoccupation.11

Consentement libre et éclairé volontaire et influence exagérée

11. Comme le stipule la règle 2.2 de l'EPTC : « Le consentement libre et éclairé doit être volontaire et donné sans manipulation, coercition ou influence excessive. » Le principe du consentement libre et éclairé peut être menacé par d’autres dimensions de l’utilisation de bassins de sujets ou participants étudiants.

12. Dans certains établissements, les étudiants participent comme sujets aux études de recherche pour recevoir des crédits de bonification en plus de leur note normale de cours. Dans d’autres établissements, la participation des étudiants à la recherche fait partie du programme de cours, et la participation est reflétée dans la note obtenue pour le cours. Dans les deux cas, l’octroi de crédits aux étudiants qui ont participé aux recherches soulève des questions d’éthique en l’absence d’une activité alternative de non-recherche et qui donne aux étudiants la possibilité d’obtenir un nombre équivalent de points. Sans une activité de remplacement, l’octroi de crédits uniquement pour avoir participé à la recherche soulève des problèmes « d’influence excessive ». En effet, selon l'EPTC :

Les influences excessives peuvent se traduire soit par des gratifications, soit par des privations, soit encore par l’exercice d’un pouvoir ou d’une autorité sur des sujets pressentis. […] Une offre d’avantages peut, dans certains contextes, équivaloir à des incitations indues, annulant de ce fait l’aspect volontaire du consentement de certaines populations qui peuvent envisager de telles offres comme une façon d’obtenir des faveurs ou d’améliorer leur sort12.

13. Pour assurer que la participation à la recherche est volontaire et pour réduire le risque d’incitation indue, il faudrait proposer aux étudiants une activité alternative leur permettant d’obtenir des crédits comparables à ceux qu’ils gagneraient s’ils participaient au projet de recherche. Les étudiants pourraient, par exemple, rédiger un devoir au lieu de participer à la recherche. Pour optimiser le libre choix, l’effort et le temps consacrés à la recherche et à l’activité alternative de non-recherche, ainsi que les récompenses potentielles, devraient être comparables. Cette approche est conforme au code de déontologie professionnelle de la Société canadienne de psychologie13. Plus l’activité alternative est considérée comme étant excessivement sévère ou injustifiable, plus il est probable qu’elle aura une influence indue, voire potentiellement coercitive, quant à la participation à la recherche.

Pénalités

14. Vous vous référez aussi à une pratique dans certains travaux universitaires où des étudiants qui ont accepté de participer à une recherche, mais qui ne le font pas, sont pénalisés en perdant d’autres crédits déjà gagnés dans le cours. La règle 2.4d) de l'EPTC prévoit que les chercheurs donnent « la garantie que les sujets pressentis sont libres de ne pas participer au projet, de s’en retirer en tout temps sans perdre de droits acquis […] ». Du point de vue axé sur le participant, la pratique de pénaliser les étudiants qui décident de ne pas participer à une recherche en enlevant des crédits déjà gagnés vise à exercer une forte influence négative et, en fait, l’exerce. Elle est en contradiction directe avec le droit d’un participant de se retirer d’une recherche sans préjudice. Une telle pénalité sert donc d’influence indue, qui peut être coercitive, sur la participation volontaire à la recherche et elle est non conforme aux principes et à l’esprit de l'EPTC.

Nous espérons que cette information sera utile dans vos débats sur l’éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains dans le contexte de l'EPTC.

Nous vous prions d’agréer l’expression de nos sentiments distingués.

Secrétariat de éthique de la recherche
au nom du Groupe consultatif interagences en éthique en recherche
ger.ethique.gc.ca


  1. « Bassins de sujets ou de participants étudiants» signifie un groupe de particuliers constituant des sujets éventuels à recruter pour une recherche. Il s’agit, par exemple, d’étudiants en psychologie d’un cours universitaire, qui peuvent constituer un bassin de sujets ou de participants.
  2. Le GER offre des conseils en matière de questions d’interprétation de l'EPTC, afin d’aider le milieu de l'éthique de la recherche à appliquer l'EPTC aux enjeux éthiques auxquels le milieu fait face. Bien que ses réponses aux questions d’interprétation de l'EPTC peuvent porter sur des aspects éthiques des questions juridiques reliées à l’éthique de la recherche, le GER ne fournit pas d’avis juridiques; il n’agit pas non plus à titre d’organisme d’appel des décisions des CÉR et des établissements.
  3. EPTC, commentaire à la règle 1.1, pages 1.1 et 1.2.
  4. Voir le Groupe consultatif interagences en éthique de la recherche (Interprétation) Définition de « études d’assurance de qualité, évaluation de rendement et recherche » (2003) http://ger.ethique.gc.ca/fra/archives/tcps-eptc/interpretations/interpretation007/
  5. EPTC, règle 1.6, page 1.8.
  6. Voir le commentaire à la règle 1.1d) de l'EPTC « […] les études directement reliées à l’évaluation […] des étudiants, […] et menées conformément au mandat […] de formation […] ne devraient pas être approuvées par un CER. Toutefois, les études ou les évaluations de rendement comprenant un élément de recherche peuvent nécessiter une évaluation éthique ».
  7. EPTC, Contexte du cadre éthique, D : Une démarche axée sur les sujets, page i.9.
  8. Voir Moreno, Jonathan. Convenient and Captive Populations, chez Jeffrey Kahn et coll., éditeur, Beyond Consent: Seeking Justice in Research. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998: 111-130. (« La nature potentiellement coercitive d’être étudiant, peut provenir d’un cours qui exige qu’il devienne sujet de l’étude. »
    p. 123).
  9. Ibid.
  10. EPTC, commentaire à la règle 2.2, page 2.4.
  11. Société canadienne de psychologie. Code canadien de déontologie professionnelle des psychologues, 3e édition 2000. III.33 « éviter les relations doubles ou multiples (par ex., avec les clients, les sujets de recherche, les employés, les personnes supervisées, les étudiants ou les clients) qui pourraient l’impliquer dans un conflit d’intérêts ou nuire à son objectivité et à son impartialité quand vient le temps de déterminer l’intérêt d’autrui » [sic]
  12. EPTC, commentaire à la règle 2.2, pages 2.4 et 2.5.
  13. Société canadienne de psychologie. Code canadien de déontologie professionnelle des psychologues, 3e édition 2000. I.36 « faire preuve de prudence particulière face au degré de liberté dont dispose un participant en situation de dépendance vis-à-vis le psychologue (par ex., un étudiant, un employé) pour consentir à participer à une recherche. Il peut être possible, par exemple, d’offrir à cette personne un choix d’activités lui permettant de réaliser ses objectifs de formation ou d’emploi ou encore lui donner un choix parmi un éventail de projets de recherche ou
    d’expériences de travail, aucun n’étant aussi exigeant au point d’être coercitif » [sic]