Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Panel Members

Dr. Carolyn Ells

Dr. Carolyn Ells is an Associate Professor of Medicine, Associate Member of the Division of Experimental Medicine, and Member of the Biomedical Ethics Unit, McGill University. She is an Associate Researcher at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Montreal. As a philosopher with a specialization in bioethics, it was her service on university and hospital research ethics boards (REBs) that fostered her interest in research ethics. She now has a tremendous breadth of understanding of research methodologies and challenges, normative texts and their application to ethical research, resolution of challenging research ethics situations, and the realities faced by academic researchers, REBs and their institutions.
Dr. Ells’ published work on these themes appears in BMJ, Canadian Journal of Sociology, Journal of Medical Ethics, The International Journal of Feminist Approaches to Bioethics, The Qualitative Report, and elsewhere. She is a co-investigator on several healthcare-related research projects.

Her publications and policy analyses have been used by policy makers in recommending revisions to normative texts, including the World Medical Association for the Declaration of Helsinki; the Social Sciences and Humanities Working Committee of the Panel on Research Ethics for the TCPS; and the American Association for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Consent Task Force.

In addition to local research ethics teaching for graduate and post-graduate trainees, researchers and REBs, Dr Ells is co-author of a 6-module online research ethics tutorial targeting REB members and support staff within the Quebec health and social services network.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Membres du Groupe

Carolyn Ells

Carolyn Ells est professeure agrégée de médecine, membre associée de la Division de médecine expérimentale et membre de l’Unité d’éthique biomédicale de l’Université McGill. Elle est aussi chercheure associée à l’Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales de Montréal. Sa participation aux travaux de comités d’éthique de la recherche (CÉR) en milieu universitaire et hospitalier, en tant que philosophe spécialisée en bioéthique, a stimulé son intérêt pour l’éthique de la recherche. Elle possède maintenant une vaste maîtrise des méthodes et des défis de la recherche, des textes normatifs et de leur application à l’éthique de la recherche, du règlement des situations délicates en matière d’éthique de la recherche et des réalités des chercheurs universitaires, des CÉR et de leurs établissements.

La Pre Ells a publié des articles sur ces thèmes entre autres dans BMJ, le Canadian Journal of Sociology, le Journal of Medical Ethics, l’International Journal of Feminist Approaches to Bioethics et le Qualitative Report. Elle est cochercheure dans divers projets de recherche touchant les soins de santé.

Ses articles et ses analyses de politiques ont été utilisés par des responsables de politiques dans la formulation de révisions de textes normatifs, y compris à l’Association médicale mondiale en ce qui concerne la Déclaration d’Helsinki, au comité de travail des sciences sociales et humaines du Groupe en éthique de la recherche dans le cas de l’EPTC et au groupe de travail sur le consentement de l’American Association for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities.

En plus de donner des cours sur l’éthique de la recherche à des étudiants de deuxième et troisième cycles, des chercheurs et des CÉR, la Pre Ells est coauteure d’un didacticiel en ligne de six modules à l’intention des membres de CÉR et de personnel de soutien dans le réseau québécois de la santé et des services sociaux.