Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Panel Members

Dr. Judith Bartlett

Dr. Judith Bartlett is a Métis physician, researcher and health administrator. She graduated from medicine in 1987 and completed her family medicine specialty training in 1989, both at the University of Manitoba. After completing her studies, she worked in two northern remote First Nation communities followed by six and a half years as director of Health Programs, Medical Services Branch of Health Canada (now named First Nation and Inuit Health). Dr. Bartlett then returned to the academic environment to complete an MSc in Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. She is a full time faculty in the Department of Community Health Science and holds the designations as associate professor and as adjunct scientist (Manitoba Centre for Health Policy). Dr. Bartlett has an active academic research program in the areas of indigenous health workforce and resilience (Maori, Métis and First Nations), knowledge translation and population health research.

In 2005, Dr. Bartlett developed the Manitoba Métis Federation - Health & Wellness Department (MMF-HWD) in Winnipeg. She has held the director role for the department, which now has 24 staff, since its inception. The MMF-HWD plays a leadership role in its vision of “A Well Métis Community” by ‘developing and using knowledge’ that is holistic and culture-based, builds capacity, is based on excellence in research, and results in a Métis ‘health knowledge authority’.  She also continues part-time clinical work. 

Dr. Bartlett has always been an active participant in professional and community boards, councils and committees. Current roles include membership on the Manitoba Health Research Council, the Canada North West FASD Research Network Board and the United Way of Winnipeg Aboriginal Relations Council. 

Dr. Bartlett was honored in 2003 as the recipient of the National Aboriginal Achievement Award for Health.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Membres du Groupe

Dre Judith Bartlett

La Dre Judith Bartlett est une Métisse médecin, chercheuse et administratrice dans le secteur de la santé. Elle a terminé l’école de médecine en 1987 et la formation spécialisée en médecine familiale en 1989, dans les deux cas à l’Université du Manitoba. Elle a d’abord travaillé dans deux communautés nordiques isolées des Premières Nations puis plus de six ans comme directrice des programmes de santé de la Direction générale des services médicaux de Santé Canada (aujourd’hui la Direction générale de la santé des Premières nations et des Inuits). La Dre Bartlett est ensuite retournée dans le milieu universitaire, complétant une maîtrise en sciences de la santé communautaire à l’Université du Manitoba. Elle enseigne à temps plein au Département des sciences de la santé communautaire, détenant les titres de professeure agrégée et de scientifique auxiliaire (Centre d’élaboration de la politique des soins de santé du Manitoba). Elle poursuit des recherches sur les travailleurs dans le domaine de la santé autochtone et de la résilience (Maoris, Métis et Premières Nations), sur le transfert des connaissances et sur la santé de la population.

En 2005, la Dre Bartlett a mis sur pied le Centre de santé et de bien-être de la Fédération des Métis du Manitoba à Winnipeg. Elle dirige depuis lors l’organisme, qui compte maintenant 24 collaborateurs. Le Centre assume le leadership dans la matérialisation de sa vision du bien-être de la communauté métisse en créant et en utilisant des connaissances qui sont holistiques et fondées sur la culture, qui renforcent la capacité d’action, qui s’appuient sur l’excellence en recherche et qui font autorité en matière de santé des Métis. Elle fait aussi du travail clinique à temps partiel.

La Dre Bartlett a toujours été active au sein de conseils d’administration et autres organismes et comités professionnels et communautaires. Elle est actuellement membre du Conseil manitobain de la recherche en matière de santé, du conseil du Canada North-West FASD Research Network et du Conseil des relations avec les Autochtones de Centraide Winnipeg.

En 2003, la Dre Bartlett a reçu le Prix national d’excellence décerné aux Autochtones, dans la catégorie de la santé.