Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Panel Members

Dr. Samuel Ludwin

Dr. Samuel Ludwin went to medical school at the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa, and followed this with residency and fellowship training in Pathology and Neuropathology at Stanford University in California. Since 1975 he has been at Queen's University and Kingston General Hospital where he was a Professor of Pathology and Molecular Medicine until July 2010. He has specialized in research, teaching and the clinical practice of Neuropathology. At Queen's, Dr. Ludwin also served as Associate Dean (Research) in the Faculty of Health Sciences, and as Vice-President (Research Development) Kingston General and Hotel Dieu Hospitals. His major investigative interest has been in the field of Multiple Sclerosis, in which he has carried out both basic experimental research and clinical studies. His research work has been on around mechanisms of remyelination and demyelination as well as oligodendrocyte and astrocyte behaviour in clinical Multiple Sclerosis and its models. In July 2010, he became Professor Emeritus at Queen's University.

Dr. Ludwin is Past-Chair of the Medical Advisory Board of the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada and has served on the Research Development Committee of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society of the United States. He is currently on the Board of Directors of the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada, and on other related research foundations. He has served and continues to be on the editorial boards of numerous scientific journals. He is also a Past-President of the International Society of Neuropathology.

Dr. Ludwin has taught Medical Ethics to medical students and residents at Queen's and served on the Hospital ethics committees. He has written research ethics briefs for the Research Deans of the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada. He was a member of the Interagency Advisory Panel on Research Ethics from 2005 to 2012.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Membres du Groupe

Dr Samuel Ludwin

Le Dr Samuel Ludwin a fait ses études en médecine à la University of Witwatersrand , à Johannesburg, en Afrique du Sud. Il a fait sa résidence et sa formation spécialisée en pathologie et neuropathologie à la Stanford University en Californie. Il a travaillé à la Queen’s University et à l’hôpital général de Kingston de 1975 à juillet 2010, où il a été professeur de pathologie et de médecine moléculaire. Il se consacre à la recherche, à l’enseignement et à la pratique clinique de la neuropathologie. À la Queen’s University, il a également été doyen associé (Recherche) à la Faculté des sciences de la santé, et vice-président (Développement de la recherche) à l’hôpital général de Kingston et à l’hôpital de l’Hôtel Dieu. Ses travaux portent principalement sur le domaine de la sclérose en plaques, domaine dans lequel il a réalisé des projets de recherche expérimentale et des études cliniques. Il s’intéresse particulièrement aux mécanismes de la remyélinisation et de la démyélinisation, de même qu’au comportement des oligodendrocytes et des astrocytes dans la sclérose en plaques clinique et ses modèles. Depuis juillet 2010, il est professeur émérite à la Queen’s University.

Le Dr Ludwin a été président du Conseil consultatif médical de la Société canadienne de la sclérose en plaques et a fait partie du Comité de développement de la recherche de la National Multiple Sclerosis Society aux États-Unis. Il siège présentement au Conseil d’administration de la Société canadienne de la sclérose en plaques, et est associé à d’autres fondations liées à la recherche. Il fait partie depuis longtemps de comités de rédaction de nombreux revues scientifiques. Il a également été président de la Société internationale de neuropathologie.

Le Dr Ludwin a enseigné l’éthique de la médecine à des étudiants en médecine et des médecins résidents à la Queen’s University, et a siégé au Comité d’éthique de l’Hôpital. Il a rédigé des comptes rendus sur l’éthique de la recherche à l’attention des doyens de recherche de l’Association des facultés de médecine du Canada. Il était un membre du Groupe consultatif interagences en éthique de la recherche de 2005 à 2012.