Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Panel Members

Dr. Will van den Hoonaard

Dr. van den Hoonaard has a long career conducting field research on a wide variety of topics, including marine resource management policies in Iceland, a social history of the Baha'i Community of Canada, multiculturalism and the Dutch of New Brunswick, gender issues, inductive research, and research ethics which have become the focus of his six books. He is currently working on a book about mapmakers. He has also published or presented some 130 scholarly papers. He recently published Walking the Tight Rope: Ethical Issues for Qualitative Researchers, a collection of essays on research ethics issues in inductive and qualitative social research.

As a qualitative researcher known across Canada, he has become familiar with the experiences of qualitative researchers in seeking ethics approval for their research plans and hopes to contribute to a policy statement on research ethics that speaks more to the hearts and minds of these researchers.

Born in the Netherlands, Dr. van den Hoonaard was also raised in France and Canada. A Woodrow Wilson Fellow, he obtained a PhD in Sociology from the University of Manchester. He is currently Professor of Sociology at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Membres du Groupe

Dr. Will van den Hoonaard

M. van den Hoonaard a une longue feuille de route comme chercheur sur le terrain dans une vaste gamme de domaines, dont les politiques de gestion des ressources marines en Islande, l'histoire sociale de la communauté baha'ie du Canada, le multiculturalisme et les Néerlandais du Nouveau-Brunswick, les questions d'égalité entre les sexes, la recherche inductive et l'éthique de la recherche, qui sont devenus les thèmes de ses six livres. Il travaille actuellement à un livre sur les cartographes. Il a également publié ou présenté quelque 130 communications savantes. Il a publié récemment Walking the Tight Rope : Ethical Issues for Qualitative Researchers, une collection d'essais sur des questions relatives à l'éthique de la recherche en recherche sociale inductive et qualitative.

Chercheur qualitatif connu dans tout le Canada, il connaît bien les expériences de ces chercheurs qui doivent obtenir l'approbation éthique de leurs plans de recherche, et il espère contribuer à un énoncé de politique pour l'éthique de la recherche qui les interpelle davantage.

Natif des Pays-Bas, M. van den Hoonaard a grandi en France et au Canada. Boursier Woodrow Wilson, il a obtenu un doctorat en sociologie de l'Université de Manchester. Il est actuellement professeur de sociologie à l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick à Fredericton.